Post-Tour Turf Repair

Yes, it seems a little tedious but I just aim for a meditative rhythm and I'm done in no time. Now I get why chain gangs sing.

Post-Tour Turf Repair. Bet you can’t say that three times real fast. But fast is what I’m going for today. We’ve had over 10 inches of rain just since the first of June, so the grassy paths in my yard were already a little ‘flat’ before 700 pairs of feet strolled through on the garden tour last Saturday. Much more rain is forecast for the coming week–every day, in fact. So this morning I got out my trusty core-aerator and went to work to beat the next thunderstorm that’s on its way. I can rent a power aerator for the larger areas of  my yard, and in the past have shared the rental with a neighbor. But the narrower spaces between garden fences, under arbors, checkered by stepping stones, or those near irrigation heads are the ones that are  most trampled right now, and the manual version of core aeration will work just fine. I also like that I can whip it out on a whim and not worry about scheduling a rental. The tool I have is a Fiskars aerator, and I love that the handle is long enough for me (I’m 5’8″) and the step is broad so it doesn’t hurt my foot.

My Fiskars aerator was a free sample, but Yard Butler and Hound Dog make similar tools. When I first saw one of these, I didn’t think I would actually use it much, but for a small yard with narrow spaces, it is a much better option than trying to wrestle a power aerator under an arbor. As compacted as my clay soil is, the cores and holes will improve the health of my lawn better than just poking a bunch of skinny little spikes in the ground. Core aeration is one of the best things you can do to create a healthy lawn, and it is not the same thing as spike aeration (which some researchers think is actually detrimental to turf health in clay soil.)

There are a few places I will scratch in a little grass seed, and since we are expected to have moist conditions for most of the next two weeks, it will probably germinate. Between the gradual degradation of the cores on the turf, the aeration of the soil, and the extra seed, I think we’ll be back to normal pretty quickly.

The cores will degrade over a couple of weeks as it continues to rain, and I continue to mow. Just like the dog poop they resemble.

Whew! My yard is getting healthier by the minute. That was fast.

3 thoughts on “Post-Tour Turf Repair

  1. Hi Susan, I found your blog through linked in. Glad to find you! Are you going to the bloggers conference in Buffalo in July? Just curious, because we donated a pair of gloves for each person attending. I will enjoy reading your blog– I just signed up for it. If you ever decide you want to feature a nice pair of gardening gloves (or a sun hat) please let me know! –Dorian Winslow, Womanswork

    1. Hi Dorian Thanks for the note. No, I won’t be in Buffalo, but I do plan to be at the IGC Show in Chicago. You usually go to that, don’t you? Perhaps I’ll see you there. I plan to do some talks next winter and spring about garden tools and products, so let me know what’s new. I’m still a member of GWA, and I hope to be attending that in Dallas this fall as well.

Leave a Reply

