From Wine to Gardens in Less Than 24 Hours

This time of year, the garden events really stack up and it’s hard to get to all of them. In addition to gardening, it seems I have other interests that overlap calendar-wise. So I won’t be able to attend the entire 2010 Iowa Wine Grower’s Association Conference, but I will make it to this afternoon’s educational session and the wine tasting tonight. Looking forward to meeting new friends, and learning a lot about producing and marketing wine in the Midwest.

I’ll miss tomorrow’s sessions at the IWGA Conference because I’ll be in Sioux City speaking at the 2010 Siouxland Garden Show. Last year was the first time I had either attended or spoken at that show, and I was really pleased with the quality of vendors and the great attendance. I’ll be making presentations about garden design and great ideas for garden decor. Please say hi if you happen to be there.

Last year I also spoke at the initial All-Iowa Horticulture  Exposition in Ottumwa, and even though I won’t be speaking there, I’d like to go this year. It’s taking place this weekend as well, so I can’t make that. On Sunday, however, I should be able  to swing by the Iowa Flower, Lawn and Garden Show here in Des Moines.

Doesn’t this week’s great weather make you want to get out there and grow something? Wine grapes, perhaps? No, there aren’t any wine grapes in my yard, but there’s room for lots of other yummy and pretty things. Don’t worry – this weekend’s snow will melt right away and we’ll be back to gorgeous weather in no time. You read it here.

Leave a Reply

